Chapada Diamantina region

The Chapada Diamantina is a region of mountains, located in the centre of the Brazilian state of Bahia, where almost all the rivers of the Paraguaçu, Jacuípe and Rio de Contas basins are born.

Tourism in Chapada Diamantina

Chapada Diamantina is ideal for trekking and extreme sports with magnificent landscapes and historic cities such as Rio de Contas, Piatã, Palmeiras, Mucugê, Lençóis, Iraquara and Andaraí.

These streams of water spring from the peaks and slide down the relief in beautiful rivulets, plummeting into bubbling waterfalls and forming transparent natural pools.

The national park is administered by the Chico Mendes Institute for Biodiversity Conservation.

The vegetation is exuberant, composed of species of semi-arid caatinga and mountain flora, with emphasis on bromeliads, orchids and evergreens.

The Chapada Diamantina is composed of 24 municipalities: Abaíra and its districts Ouro Verde and Catolés, Andaraí, Barra da Estiva, Ibitiara, Iramaia, Itaetê, Marcionílio Souza, Morro do Chapéu, Novo Horizonte, Palmeiras, Rio de Contas and its districts Arapiranga and Marcolino Moura, Seabra, Souto Soares, Tapiramutá, Utinga, Wagner, Boninal, Bonito, Ibicoara and its districts Cascavel and Capão da Volta, Iraquara and its districts Iraporanga and Água de Rega, Jussiape and its district Caraguataí, Lençóis, Mucugê, Nova Redenção and Piatã and its districts Cabrália and Inúbia.

Chapada Diamantina Tourism and Travel Guide

Não perca nenhuma Publicação!

Não fazemos spam!